Bizarre conundrum raised amid hot Brownlow debate

3 weeks ago 14

As the yearly statement astir midfielders dominating the Brownlow Medal number continues to rage pursuing Sunday's nighttime of nights, Essendon fable Matthew Lloyd has shifted the absorption to what helium sees arsenic a responsibility successful different awards system.

The legendary Bombers guardant has pointed retired that portion Richmond defender Dylan Grimes won the Tigers' champion and fairest with 51 votes this season, the All-Australian earned conscionable 5 votes successful this year's AFL Coaches Association champion subordinate of the twelvemonth grant count.

How the AFL Coaches Association champion subordinate of the twelvemonth grant number works is that some coaching panels allocate votes connected a 5-4-3-2-1 ground aft each match. Votes tin beryllium handed retired to the opposition.

Lloyd isn't fazed that Grimes lone polled 1 ballot successful the Brownlow Medal number owed to the quality of the umpires-voted award, but he's frustrated that the three-time premiership Tiger intelligibly wasn't valued by the coaches this season.

READ MORE: Ben Simmons tells 76ers 'he volition ne'er play different crippled for the franchise'

Richmond defender Dylan Grimes. (Getty)

"This is wherever I deliberation the coaches grant disappoints me, due to the fact that (the coaches) should beryllium the ones that worth a definite subordinate wrong the game," Lloyd said connected Nine's Footy Classified.

"And I look astatine this player: Dylan Grimes. I don't attraction astir the Brownlow due to the fact that I recognize Dylan Grimes isn't the benignant to canvass successful the Brownlow.

"But (how did helium get) lone 5 votes for the year? That would person him 150th-200th.

"So however does helium triumph his club's champion and fairest but yet Damien Hardwick lone gave him 5 votes during the year? That's what I don't understand.

"The coaches' votes – we should beryllium seeing much relation players wrong their votes."

Richmond defender Dylan Grimes shovels a handball. (Getty)

READ MORE: Canelo Alvarez and Caleb Plant brawl astatine pre-fight face-off

Melbourne midfielder Clayton Oliver took retired this year's AFL Coaches Association champion of the subordinate award, polling 114 votes arsenic helium edged the Western Bulldogs' Marcus Bontempelli and Port Adelaide's Ollie Wines.

A non-midfielder hasn't won the champion subordinate of the twelvemonth grant since Barry Hall with Sydney successful 2005.

Barry Hall celebrates booting a extremity successful Swans colours. (Getty)

READ MORE: Melbourne Storm uncover unthinkable motion for loyal fans

Footy Classified panelist Eddie McGuire responded to Lloyd with a thought-provoking question.

"Are the coaches not putting them successful the coaches grant due to the fact that they don't privation the absorption knowing who the invaluable subordinate is?" McGuire said with a laugh.

Former St Kilda and Fremantle manager Ross Lyon added: "I deliberation there's a constituent to that."

For a regular dose of the champion of the breaking quality and exclusive contented from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

Brownlow triumph successful pictures: Port Adelaide weapon Ollie Wines takes retired 'Charlie' successful heart-stopping count

Read Entire Article